Tuesday, January 12, 2016

Throw Back - Dir en Grey at the Gothic Theater

December 6th, 2008


DIR EN GREY

HAS STILL GOT IT.
That concert was wow.  Again. :P
I'm waiting for someone to post the set list that was played at the show, but no one has done so yet.  I haven't listened to their newer music at all yet, so I have no idea which songs were played.  All I know is that Obscure was first.  Shivers ran down my spine when they played The Final, Ryoujoku no Ame, Merciless Cult and Saku... they were so amazing... the other songs were too, but I don't know what they were.

It was really, very amazing though.  We were sitting on Toshiya and Kaoru's side, but I couldn't see Kaoru at all because there were people in front of me. :\  I could hardly see Toshiya either.  Although, I was thinking about it, and every time I have seen them, I have sat on that side, and only watched those two.  This time, I watched Shinya, Kyo and Die... and DIE IS ADORABLE.  He was all smiles the entire time, except when he was flipping us off, ahaha.

Kyo did a really good job pumping us all up too.  He screamed "DENVER!" which came out more like "DENVAAA!"  It was still awesome, because the last three times he didn't do that.  I wish that my cell phone camera was a little better... I got a bunch of pictures of them, but I was too far away and my phone wouldn't zoom in far enough.  It's really disappointing.  The video I took sucks too.  Sad day...~

I'm going to keep looking for the setlist, and when I find it, I'll add it. :/

(I never found the set-list for this performance)

Monday, January 11, 2016

Throw Back - Dir en Grey- Fillmore Auditorium

Sometime in the summer of 2007, Dir en grey came to Denver and performed at the Fillmore Auditorium.  I apparently didn't write about it, which is a bit shocking because I thought that I wrote about all my experiences at Dir en grey shows.  If I did, it's lost for now so I am just going to document my memories of the show.

My friends and I went quite early to line up for this show. I remember that because we were all under 21, we had to get big X's drawn on our hands.  It wore off by the end of the show, because we decided to be in the mosh pit.  We were very close- maybe what could be considered the 3rd row.

Oh and I spoke too soon, I found my write up. It's really lacking in comparison to my others.

And we go forth, to June 22, 2007

Sunday, January 10, 2016

Throw Back -Second Live- Dir en Grey at the Gothic Theater

February 16, 2007

Dir en Grey; Concert; Gothic Theater; Feb. 16, 2007
It was freezing outside, and I am not exaggerating.  It was snowing, and there were girls running around in tank tops and crazy shit like that.  I had my hoodie, and Jimmy's COAT and I was FREEZING.
We got fed up with that after a while.  Jimmy went and bought a comforter.  He was the hero of the area we were in, because we literally made a tent out of people.  I don't even know any of the people's names that we were with, because all I remember were these two girls nicknamed each other "Nana" and "Hachi" and then the guy that was with them was a cross-dresser named Steven.  By the time that we got inside, it was still snowing, which sucked hardcore.  Katie and I went and sat down behind the mosh area, because we didn't want to get killed.

Jimmy decided that he wanted to sit on the balcony, and we were like TEN DAMN FEET AWAY FROM TOSHIYA AND KAORU.  SO much better than FVT.  Since I didn't get my copy of "The Marrow of the Bone" until yesterday, that was the first time I heard some of the songs that they played... but oh my GOD it was the most amazing thing ever.  I was jealous that the people in the mosh got Toshiya's spit on them, but I was so excited nonetheless that I didn't care.
GDS
FATAL BELIEVER
THE FINAL
Mr. Newsman
-we sang happy birthday to Kyo here-
Agitated Screams of Maggots (Kyo flipped off the audience during this song)
saku
Grief
ITOSHISA HA FUHAI NI TUSKI
KODOKUNI SISU, YUENI KODOKU.
Merciless Cult
DEEPER VILENESS
Shokubeni
Ryoujoku no ame
dead tree 
Obscure 

Encore:
C
IIID Empire (everyone screamed SPARK AND SPARK along with Kyo)
Beautiful Dirt
CLEVER SLEAZOID (before this, he put one finger up in the air and said "LAST SONG")

After that Kyo took a bucket of water and dumped it on his head, it said "Rape."

Merch was a pain in the ass to get.  Everyone was being rude and just shoving... that pissed me off, because yes, WE'RE ALL TIRED from screaming and jumping around and having the time of our lives, but that's not any reason to be a freaking asshole.  The lady that took care of me wasn't being cooperative either.  I wanted so much stuff and after I said whatever I wanted, she would tell me a total price right away.  I was like, Um... I'm not done yet.  C'mon seriously, they had freaking McAbre, six Ugly... !!!! So many things! I was upset. ;_; But I got the wristband and the first shirt.  Next time I am gonna buy merch BEFORE the show.  Get someone to get spots and then I am gonna buy merch.

On the way back to the car, Jimmy said that he would do the bassist.  I was like, NO TOSHIYA'S MY FAVORITE!  And then Katie said "What's the drummer's name?"  ...Shinya? "I'D DO HIM."  ...I seriously was thinking about that last night, because that question has been asked of me a lot.  I wouldn't do any of them. :P  I would totally love to chill with them. XD They're so awesomley amazing, but I would NOT have sex with any of them.  I mean I love Dir en Grey... and like Alicia said they are the ULTIMATE.  But... ...yeah.

I figured since I don't have enough time to finish a pair of pants for US concerts that I will just work on them when I have time and not have to spend my free time doing homework, and wear the pants when I go see them in Japan. Which I will do by the way.  I keep putting it off a summer, because I find other things to do during the certain summer, but as long as I can work during the summer and save the money, I will blow at least half of what I have in my checking account on a trip to Japan to see Dir en Grey.

Anyways when I got home last night, my ears were ringing so bad it took me a while to sleep.  I was kinda upset because Die threw one of his guitar picks up at us, and Jimmy caught it, but dropped it.  Him and this other guy looked around for it for a bit, and then gave up, so I looked for it.  I found it but the guy that was looking before noticed me looking, and when I reached for it he snatched it from my grasp, stupid jerk!!!  But oh well, there's always next time. :D

BY THE WAY -  Agitated Screams of Maggots is WAY better live than the single or on the cd.  And Shinya was amazing with the drums during Ryojoku no Ame.  Obscure is amazing live.

...um. Well... Dir en Grey is AMAZING live. XD

It was AMAZING.

Saturday, January 9, 2016

Throw Back- First Concert Ever- Dir en Grey at Fiddler's Green Amphitheatre

The first live I went to was shortly after my high school graduation. At the time, I was really into Japanese rock music and it was just starting to come to the United States at the time.  As far as I know, this was one of the first, major nationwide tours that a Japanese band participated in.  I was really excited to see them.

They even had a meet and greet at the end of the performance! It was a wonderful end to the day.

And now, on to the madness of my high school writings.