Friday, October 11, 2013

Throw Back- Backstreet's Back!

Backstreet Boys- Saitama Super Arena-October 11, 2013

Last Friday evening after school, I went to Saitama Super Arena for the Backstreet Boys concert. I found out about the concert rather late, but I wanted to go to the show so I bought a ticket for the Friday night show. (The Saturday and Sunday shows were sold out.)

So, I didn't get there that quickly. But, the arena was no where near full and they actually started the show a bit late because of it. A lot of the people came late, I assume because it was a work day.

I found out some lovely things from going to this show. The new album, some of the songs were written by the guys. I jumped around, screamed, sang along as loud as I could...

The most exciting part was that they played old songs as well as some of their new songs. They also performed some songs a Capella, which was beautiful.

I also learned that Brian is the silly, ridiculous one in the band. He came out on stage a few times to do things (tell the audience things etc.) he just looked sheepish and giggled. It was quite strange, but considering that I have been listening to Backstreet Boys since their inception, I know essentially nothing about them as people... Which is unfortunate, but there's no way around it now.

So in conclusion...

It was lovely. I basically adored it. It was totally worth all the money I spent on the ticket+taking the shinkansen two times in one day.

(Also I have been watching Vlog Brothers ...constantly? For a few days. So I'm going to start using DFTBA, which means "Don't forget to be awesome.")

So DFTBA!

Saturday, July 27, 2013

Throw Back- Kis-My-Ft2 at Yokohama Arena

July 27, 2013

So I reckoned it was about time to write up about the KisuMai concert that I went to a couple of weeks ago.
And now I am reckoning that I should have written about it two weeks ago because I don't remember that much.

Okay. Anyways, Sonya got JE International tickets to see KisuMai on July 27th for the afternoon show.
KisuMai is a lot more popular than I thought they were. I thought that maybe they weren't as popular as Kat-Tun, but it seems that I was mistaken. We got to the concert venue about two hours early and the line for merch was three hours long. We gave up about an hour in, and just went to get our tickets instead.

We were super close to the edges of the stage.
But... Sonya said that the Shinhwa concerts I went to earlier last month jaded me and boy, was she right. KisuMai was fun, but Shinhwa has so much more charisma than I felt KisuMai did. I have to admit I was a bit disappointed because of the lack of interaction with the audience. One of my most memorable parts of the show were Kitayama's solo (because I love him, and his solo.) In the middle, he left the stage and went in search of roses. He ran into Wataru, who was... I don't even know what he was supposed to be, Indian? Anyways, he ran off and found Miyata. It was so racist...They had Miyata's face painted black and he spoke completely ridiculous Japanese. Kitayama told him he needed roses (Miyata had a flower stand.) and Miyata told him that he had "bara-chan" and pulled out this creepy doll. After arguing for a bit, Kitayama got his roses and went back out, but he appeared in the audience. It was sweet, but Jesus I wished he was on our side. :<

I decided that I adore Senga and Nikaido more now, because they waved to us nearly every time they came by us. And Wataru came out and was like... six feet from us? It was awesome but holy hell he scared the life out of me.

Taipi disappointed me a bit too, he seemed to have been quite lazy (maybe tired?) during the dances. I don't know... for me, part of the thing that I like about KisuMai is the skating and the dancing they do. Thus, I was a bit sad about this. But, I have to say that his solo song was lovely. Taipi is super sexy as it is, and that song is super sexy. Hearing it live was fantastic.

What else...? Oh! The MC was quite hilarious! First they talked about their new dramas, which is always something they do. Then, they picked on Miyata because of his adoration for Tama. They said that often, he will just walk up and ask where Tama is, regardless of anything that's happening. They said it's because he loves Tama, and he tried to hug Tama who pushed him away.

I think that Miyata was in charge of the MC because he then told them about a game they were going to do. It was to see who could do the most romantic proposal and kiss. They used a mannequin for it, and it was ...hilarious. Kitayama and Taipi both accidentally tore the wig off of the mannequin. Kitayama just took the docked points for it but Taipi was absolutely mortified that it happened which was adorable and hilarious. They let him have a re-do, which made him the winner. After him was Tama, and Miyata was last. I can't really remember the rest, because Taipi's was so freaking hilarious...

Ah, the girl that was sitting next to us gave us some ribbon that shot out during the finale which was really sweet of her!

After the show, Sonya and I decided to stand in line for merch. I asked the clerk how long the wait would be, and he said about 2 hours. We intended to go back to my apartment in Yaita that night, so we headed to the station empty handed. I changed my mind less than half way there though, and decided that we should wait it out and see if we could make it. If not... well, that would suck for us. We went and endured the line (it wasn't that bad, less than two hours.) Originally, I intended to buy everything like I had at the Shinhwa show but I am glad I didn't do that. Some of the things would have been pointless to have after the show was over (like the pen-light, the whole point of that thing is for during the show.) So, I had to choose. I got the poster, an uchiwa (flat fan) of all the members (one of each,) a plastic folder, and the bag that they were selling. I think I bought the photo book too, but now I can't remember (I left it at my apartment in Japan...)

On the way to the station this time, we were walking along and a girl dropped her towel she had. She didn't notice that she dropped it, so I picked it up and ran after her to give it back. She was so happy to get it back, it was so worth the small effort I had to make to get it back to her. Her and her friend talked to me (and tried to talk to Sonya, but mostly talked through me to her) about the concert when they saw we had concert stuff until we got to the station. It was nice, I wish I could have made friends with them for real haha.

And, we made it back to Yaita before last train which was nice, no problem.

P.S. I have NO idea what the set list was. They played a TON of songs. A TON. I was sad, because they didn't do all of "My Resistance," and that's one of my favorite songs right now.

And!!! Forza! was AWESOME. I love that song, can't believe I forgot to write about it.

I found the set-list for the Osaka show, but it's different than the Yokohama show. ...hm

OH MY GOD also. I forgot about this too. During Ai no Beat. What the hell? I didn't realize they say "Naked dance!" during the song. But at that part it was embarrassing, the cameras zoomed in and out on Kitayama, Taipi and Tama's junk when they hip-thrust-danced at that part.

Saturday, July 13, 2013

Throw Back- Shinhwa at Makuhari Messe

Shinhwa- July 13th and 14th, 2013

I'm not going to write a full concert report, mostly because I went to two different shows.

But I want to record that it was by far, the best concert I have seen ever.  Saturday was fun, but Sunday was better.  The audience had much higher energy on Sunday and Shinhwa noticed it.  Dongwan mentioned it to us- he spoke a lot of Japanese!  Out of everyone, Dongwan spoke the most Japanese.

Minwoo kinda did... he told us multiple times みんなさん、愛してる!And of course after we all screamed.  The second to last time, he came out before the encore by himself and said みんなさん・・・ but, we didn't let him.  We were all chanting his name and he didn't know what to do.  He listened to us a moment, and then he got on his hands and knees and bowed to us.  When he got up, he said みんなさん、愛してるよ!

And! On Sunday, I was much closer than I was on Saturday.  Saturday, I was on the third tier.. Sunday I was on the second tier.  ...Sunday, I could see the sweat glistening on Jun Jin's chest.  Jinnie was sweating so bad, it was ridiculous.  The rest of the guys were fine, but he was soaked.

I decided that I need to, no matter what the cost, see them every time I can.  I joined their Japanese fan club after the show on Sunday so that I will be in the know from now on.

Sadly, I don't know the setlist they played.  I knew almost all the songs, except one in the encore.  I think it was "Yo!" but I am not too sure, I have to look and see if I can find it on YouTube.

I was super impressed with them though.  Most of the time, Asian (Korean, Japanese and Taiwanese) bands lip sync.  Shinhwa didn't lip sync AT ALL. NOT ONE TIME.  If they messed up because they were goofing around, you knew it, because they missed a line.

I'm probably the happiest person ever right now.  I spent way, WAY too much money on their shows, and their merch, and I don't regret it one bit.

Usually, after lives, I get biased and float to obsessing over one member.  I haven't been able to decide who is my favorite in Shinhwa for a really long time now, and I still can't.  I love them all so much, they're all so amazing.  I was talking to Tran about it, and I don't know if I can decide.  Even if it was like, I had to choose one or I would die... I don't know who I would choose.  I can't... I just can't decide.  Which is okay.  I love them all.  It's okay.

And I got to see my beloved hip thrusts twice during Brand New <3 And Minwoo during This Love, hooooo my god.  So sexy.

And of course, they are much hotter in person.  AND.  Shinhwa, all on my team! I saw them in person and I claim them for my team.

やっぱり神話最高!! また、韓国語を勉強始まろう!神話のことなら何でもできる!頑張ろう!!

P.S. I can't believe I forgot to include this! Saturday Dongwan taught us to do the dance to "Stay," and Sunday Minwoo did. So fun!!!!

P.P.S. I'm trying to remember the set list by listening to their music ...lol.  While I can't remember the order, I know that they did the following:
Brand New
Venus
This Love
Hurts
Stay
Perfect Man
Run
Shooting Star
How Do I Say
Once in a Lifetime
Hey! Come On
웃다가...
Yo!
TOP
사랑 노래 (The performance for this was adorable and ridiculous, I can't wait for the DVD so I can relive that)
Eusha Eusha!